Stakeholder Democracy: Represented Democracy in a Time of Fear  Available Now.


New book out: Governance for Sustainable Development Volume 3: Preparing for the Heads of State Review of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

The Friends of Governance for Sustainable Development have continued to host workshops on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development in 2018. 

Governance for Sustainable Development Volume 3: Preparing for the Heads of State Review of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development Paperback  was edited by Felix Dodds (Author, Editor), Akinremi Bolaji (Editor), Yeongmoo Cho (Editor), Verena Klinger-Dering (Editor), Cristina Popescu (Editor), David Banisar (Editor), Quinn McKew (Editor).

The 2030 Agenda represents one of the most important sets of Global Goals that the international community has committed to. It is an unprecedented effort that embodies universal aspirations for achieving a more just, equitable, peaceful and sustainable future. It is an excellent example of successful multilateralism. 

This ambitious and unique exercise represents a paradigm shift in policy-making for sustainable development. It gives a roadmap by which we all, the UN, governments and stakeholders can work together to address the most pressing global challenges. In this context, the rule of law, as well as effective, robust, participatory and accountable institutions are of the utmost importance to achieve the 17 sustainable development goals (SDGs) and their 169 targets.


This is the third book that the Group of Friends of the Governance for Sustainable Development has produced in an effort to share widely the papers that have been presented at the workshops for member States to discuss. The Group recognizes that there is an inextricable link between good governance and sustainable development and that, as the 2030 Agenda is implemented, governance challenges will need discussion and action at all levels and by all institutions.


This book was written and co-edited by 


  • Abhinav Bahl, 
  • Aparajita Banerjee, 
  • David Banisar, 
  • Akinremi Bolaji, 
  • Marianne Beisheim, 
  • Geert Bouckaert, 
  • Yeongmoo Cho, 
  • Jack Cornforth, 
  • Felix Dodds, 
  • Jorge Fernandez, 
  • Patricia Galdamez, 
  • Alexandra Hiniker, 
  • David Horan, 
  • Verena Klinger-Dering, 
  • Quinn McKew, 
  • Enda Murphy, 
  • Charles Nouhan, 
  • David O’Connor, 
  • Derek Osborn, 
  • Minh-Thu Pham, 
  • Cristina Popescu, 
  • Jan-Gustav Strandenaes, 
  • Massimo Tommasoli, 
  • Lucy Turner, 
  • Farooq Ullah, 
  • Felipe Victoria, and 
  • Patrick Paul Walsh.



  • Created on .